The Kiwi Cook

Flan de Cafe

I was intrigued when I recently saw contestants in the Australian production of ‘My Kitchen Rules’ make someting called a Flan de Café. I searched online and discovered that it’s a traditional Spanish/South American recipe made with sweetened condensed milk, evaporated milk and coffee.

It  looks very much like the crème caramel we’re more familiar with but, due to the type of milks used, has a very different texture. While a crème caramel, which is made with standard milk or cream, is light and silky, this flan is quite a bit denser (as you can see from my photos) and is sliced very easily because of it. It’s also, surprisingly, not overly sweet and goes together particularly well with whipped cream and sweet tropical fruits such as banana or mango.

Thanks to Meals.com for the easy to follow recipe. I adapted it only slightly, adding in some Kahlua (well, why wouldn’t you?!) and…

View original post 364 mots de plus