the greener bench

The annual summer trip to the Minnesota cabin happens the same way every year. First the flight into Minneapolis starts to put me into an adventurous spirit when I step outside of the airport, take a breath, smell the greenness and feel the cool late summer air.

I drive north, exiting the interstate for the smaller back roads past the Caribou Coffees, and the log cabin architecture and I start to get excited. The scenery becomes more rural and agricultural, with fields of corn and cows.

minnesota field, corn, the greener bench blog

dirt road, minnesota, the greener bench blog

dead end sign, minnesota, the greener bench blog

Eventually I come to a dirt road, lined with birch trees and jog off the road where the dead end sign is. I finally made it to THE LAKE!

view of lake from cabin, the greener bench blog

Many folks visit northern Minnesota to hunt and fish, but our family does neither. I tend to take a lot of walks, play cards and do a lot of swimming and reading, not to mention…

View original post 491 mots de plus