Bit of Earth Farm

good gardening intentions, Warsaw University Botanical Garden plan

My gardens are made of the best intentions.

In the winter I flip through gardening catalogs and map out planting schemes. I read diverse and wonderful books likeGaia’s Garden: A Guide to Home-Scale Permaculture, The Winter Harvest Handbook: Year Round Vegetable Production Using Deep Organic Techniques and Unheated GreenhousesandInvasive Plant Medicine: The Ecological Benefits and Healing Abilities of Invasives. I tell myself I’ll be a better gardener the next spring. More energetic, more diligent, more heat tolerant.

That doesn’t happen.

I intend to plant with deep reverence for seed and soil. And I start out that way. But somehow I always find myself hurrying to get one more row in before the sprinkling rain becomes a downpour. The seeds I so carefully saved dump out as I bend over like peasant women have done for eons. The dirt I thought reasonably…

View original post 348 mots de plus