Salut Toulouse

All alone, with a ten journey ticket, a pocket map, and a peach in my bag, I made my way into Toulouse for the first time. I put thoughts of not actually knowing how on earth to get back to my suburban house out of my mind, and replaced them with thoughts of how on earth I’d find my way around the city.

Getting to the city from my side of town requires a split journey. The first leg is on the SNCF (the smallest two-carriage train I have ever been on), the second is by Metro (also small enough to rival Glasgow’s subway system). Altogether it takes roughly fifteen minutes, hardly a long commute. I wondered if, with my glaring pale skin, camera bag around my neck, and a permanent facial expression of anxiety, I looked like a tourist – most likely.

I decided to alight at Capitole, mainly…

View original post 295 mots de plus