The Bloggess

So...yeah.  Right now there’s a lot of talk about a tumblr called WomenAgainstFeminism.  It’s just pictures of some women holding up handwritten signs entitled « I don’t need feminism because... »  Some of the reasons they give for not needing feminism almost seem like a parody (« How the fuck am I suppose to open jars and lift heavy things without my husband? ») and some (« I don’t need to grow out my body hair to prove I’m equal to men ») just make me wonder where in the world they got their definition of feminism.

At first I considered starting my own « I Don’t Need _____ Because » tumblr with people holding equally baffling signs.  Signs like:

I don’t need books because YOU KNOW WHO WROTE BOOKS?  HITLER.  HITLER WROTE A BOOK.  NO THANK YOU, NAZIS.

I don’t need money BECAUSE I HAVE A CHECKBOOK, ASSHOLE.

I don’t need air because LOTS OF IT…

View original post 780 mots de plus