The Erstwhile Philistine

As I prepare to enter a PhD program in the fall, at which point presumably I won’t have much leisure time for reading what I want when I want it, I’ve decided to dedicate my summer to checking off some boxes on my pleasure reading bucket list. One huge entry on that list was George Eliot’s 800 page behemoth Middlemarch, often hailed as one of the great novels written in English. It’s been in my sights for awhile – it even had a whole Twitter campaign devoted to it –  but I’ve put it off because of its length and intimidation factor. I’m very glad I finally got around to it, and I certainly think it lives up to its lofty reputation. Instead of a traditional review, I thought I’d offer up a few things I really appreciated about the book, in an effort to convince the uninitiated that…

View original post 1 061 mots de plus