The Indisputable Dirt

You’ve heard it before, the beloved aphorism from the ever-intriguing Confucius;

« Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. »

choose_a_job_you_love_and_you_will_never_have_to_work_a_day_in_your_life

I’ve also heard it attributed to Albert Einstein, but the internet tells me that Confucius coined it, so we’ll go with that. Regardless, you’ve probably seen it in the form of a meme, pinned a thousand times on Pinterest, shared on Facebook, tweeted on twitter, etc…

Confucius2

 ^stuff like this^

I understand why the quote is so popular. There is something inspiring, something hopeful about it. It is just poetic enough to sound reasonable, just vague enough to withstand any serious scrutiny.

The only problem, of course, is that it is almost entirely false.

If the phrase was not so oft-quoted, if I did not think it influenced people’s decisions, I wouldn’t be writing this post. But from where I stand, this…

View original post 1 026 mots de plus