Love, InshAllah

Food, Love & Memories is a bimonthly column devoted to the evocative connections between the heart, food & soul. We invite you to share your story+recipe for future columns. More details here.
Hina

It’s still a few hours before any hint of twilight when my mother-in-law pulls herself up off the couch, murmuring with a sense of urgency, « I need to start getting the pakora batter ready for iftar. »

« Relax, Mama, » I tell her. « It won’t be the end of the world if the kids don’t get pakoras for iftar one day. I’m going to be making fruit chaat and lassi; that will be more than enough before dinner. And those two healthful things are better for them than fried pakoras every night, don’t you think? »

She waves away my suggestions as inconsequential. « My bacchas love pakoras; they’re going to get pakoras. As long as their grandmother is around with…

View original post 1 253 mots de plus