digital writer in residence

Today’s short fiction experiment is brought to you by the wonders of online personality quizzes. I’ve been thinking a lot about the reader as an active participant and critic, rather than a passive victim or audience member. This morning I was chatting about this notion on Twitter, apropos yet another article about whether the internet is killing novels.

As an enthusiastic reader of both Serious Novels and the internet, these articles bug me. The novel was never a broadcast medium in the first place; it’s always invited active participation, and writers who are afraid of the internet are afraid of the subjectivity of readers. Since I made this point better on Twitter, and other writers contributed much to the discussion, I’ve Storified the conversation here.

As well as being an interesting formal challenge for me – I really didn’t know whether a story/quiz was possible – I thought that writing…

View original post 187 mots de plus