Stella van Lieshout

In June and July 2014, I will be spending two months as a writer-in-residence at Teatru Salesjan in Malta, creating new work and holding workshop sessions under the name ‘Beyond Borders’. This project is supported by the Malta Arts Fund. Part of the process will be writing down my experiences weekly. 

Another week has passed. I cannot show the pictures I made, as I forgot the cable that connects my camera to the laptop. But I did find a spot to write and read outside the theatre. There’s a tree standing next to one of M’dina’s city walls and in the afternoon it gives just enough shade to enjoy the view, overhear the conversations of passing tourists and feel the quietness of this ancient city. « The Silent City » they call it.
Perhaps this is where my play will take place. I have created a historian so he can ramble about…

View original post 407 mots de plus