The Yesteryear Gazette

(From the San Francisco Call – June 2, 1912)

A Survivor of the Most Dramatic Marine Disaster in the World’s History – Told Exclusively to Readers of the Semi-Monthly Magazine Section

By Charlotte Collyer

R.M.S.  Embarking on Fatal Maiden VoyageOf the many shocking things that I remember in connection with the lost Titanic, there is one impression that will never leave me. It is the irony of the faith that I had in the big ship. « She is unsinkable, » I had been told; « she is the safest boat afloat. » I had never been on an ocean voyage, and I was afraid of the sea. But I listened to the people who said: « Take the new Titanic. She cannot come to any harm. New inventions have made her safe; and then, the officers will be extra careful on her first trip. » That sounded as if it must be true; and so Harvey, my husband, and our…

View original post 5 299 mots de plus