Searching for Albion

“English weather!” – heard at least five times during the course of wandering round the rain-swept town.

Does it always rain at the English seaside resort? The weather seems to always be at least inclement, at least as I recall. These last few days have gone by in such a blur that, were I not writing down everything I came across, I’d struggle to tell you where I’d been.

Great torrents of rain come down as I get up, disrupting any plans for the town’s visiting families during the school half term. For me it is an opportunity to observe how we spend our leisure, and spend more time talking to people about life here.

Day 7 001Day 7 002Day 7 003Day 7 004

The youth hostel here is well-kept and run by Neil, Alison, and their young family, who supply me with good conversation and information about the area, and suffer well my unusual requests. I put on…

View original post 2 222 mots de plus