Chocolate Class

On Monday May 5th, I hosted a Hot Chocolate tasting party for the purpose of exposing my friends to a little bit of the history of chocolate by tasting recipes inspired by various cultures and social classes. It was attended by six of my friends, and I truly feel it was a wild success. I prepared the recipes before my friends arrived and told them nothing about the different chocolates we were tasting until after they had each tried all of the recipes and made observations and comments. I wanted to get honest feedback without worry of bias, so it was not until after the tasting had ended that I discussed with them where each of the recipes had come from and what the ingredients were.

The four recipes I chose to use included ingredients that were reminiscent of (or directly derived from) traditional Mayan, Mexican, Spanish, and…

View original post 1 815 mots de plus