artbysaba

I was included in a list of beautiful photographs of American Muslim women: here
If you scroll down to the comments section, there is a pretty clear and legitimate concern with this list – the women who have been left out.

I spent 16 years in predominately white private schools that were dripping with privilege.  But as one of few Muslim females in these environments, I very deeply felt the consistent ache and insecurity of being an « other, » of my lack of privilege.
A few years ago while I was at North Carolina Central University studying Art Education, I took a course called « Diversity and Pedagogy. »  We took a « calculate your privilege » quiz, and I remember feeling really angry.  Because as I was taking the quiz, as I was learning about the results, I felt that it took away something that had defined me, and suddenly, I was one of…

View original post 480 mots de plus